Romero Britto artwork created especially for the Barbara Bush Foundation for Family Literacy

Celebration of Reading in Florida

February 05, 2016 , Save the date!

The Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort & Spa - Bonita Springs, Florida

Sponsorship Information Author Information Celebration Committee Photo Gallery Student Writing Contest

florida-1Thank you for your support of the 2015 Celebration of Reading in Florida!

The Barbara Bush Foundation for Family Literacy
The Barbara Bush Foundation for Family Literacy is the nation’s leading advocate for family literacy.  The Foundation provides access to and choice of educational opportunities for young children and their parents. The goals of the Foundation are simple: we want children to start school ready to excel and help parents improve their literacy skills.

Sponsorship Information – Florida

Thank you to all our 2015 Celebration Sponsors. View the list HERE.

Author Information

Thank you to our guest authors!


Markus Zusak

Markus Zusak is best known for writing the international best-seller, The Book Thief. First released in 2005, The Book Thief has spent a total of 375 weeks on the New York Times best-seller list, and still remains there eight years after it first hit shelves. It is the works of this book that has established Markus as one of the most successful authors to come out of Australia. It was the only book to be featured on both the USA and UK World Book Night Lists in 2012. The blockbuster movie based off the book debuted in late 2013, and was nominated for an Academy Award, Golden Globe and Critics’ Choice Movie Award.

Markus is also the award-winning author of four previous books: The Underdog, Fighting Ruben Wolfe, Getting the Girl and I Am the Messenger, recipient of a 2006 Printz Honor. He most recently received the 2014 Margaret A. Edwards Award honoring his noteworthy and enduring contribution to writing for teens for The Book Thief, Fighting Reuben Wolf, Getting the Girl and I Am the Messenger.

Markus grew up in Sydney, Australia and still lives there with his wife and two children.


Christopher Buckley

A Yale graduate, Christopher started his career as an associate editor at Esquire Magazine and went on to become a speechwriter to then-U.S. Vice President George H.W. Bush. The two-year experience is displayed in his new book But Enough About You, a wide-ranging selection of essays both hilarious and poignant, irrelevant and delightful.

Christopher has written 16 books. Most are satirical novels. His best-known novel is Thank You For Smoking, published in 1993. In 2006 it was adapted for the movie screen.

Christopher lived in Washington, DC for 29 years. During those years he wrote for many publications, including: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, Vanity Fair, and many more.

In 1989, he was hired to start up and editor a lifestyle magazine supplement to Forbes. That magazine became Forbes FYI, now ForbesLife and began a happy 17-year long association with the Forbes family.

Robin Cook

Robin Cook

Doctor and author Robin Cook is widely credited with introducing the word “medical” to the thriller genre, and 34 years after the publication of his breakthrough novel, Coma, he continues to dominate the category he created. Cook has successfully combined medical fact with fantasy to produce a succession of 28 New York Times bestsellers that have been translated into forty some languages. Robin Cook currently works and lives in Florida. Recent awards include the 2002 “Author of Vision” presented by the RP International organization and a 2004 appointment by President George W. Bush to the Woodrow Wilson Board of Trustees.

Celebration Committee

A very special thank you to our host committee members!


  • Jeb and Columba Bush

Statewide Host Committee

  • Carol Jenkins Barnett, Publix Super Markets Charities
  • Romero Britto, International Pop Artist and Artistic Activist
  • Sandra & Jeb Bush Jr., Spokespersons for Barbara Bush Foundation
  • Carol Dover, Florida Restaurant & Lodging Association
  • Honorable Tom & Ann Grady, Founding Co-Chairs, Florida Celebration of Reading
  • Peter Jacobsen, PGA Tour Professional
  • Fred & Autumn Karlinsky, Attorney, Parents and Champions for Reading
  • Tom & Carol Kuntz, Family Literacy Advocates
  • Piyush Patel, Kyra InfoTech
  • Fred & Stephanie Pezeshkan, Founding Co-Chairs, Florida Celebration of Reading
  • Senator Garrett & Diana Richter, Barbara Bush Foundation Advocates




















Official Airline Partner: Southwest Airlines


Bridges of America
Florida Lottery
Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort & Spa
ICI Homes, Inc.
Kyra InfoTech Inc.
Mountain States Health Alliance
SunTrust Foundation
Target Stores
The Mosaic Company
Timur Tillyaev


Barbara Bush Children’s Hospital at Maine Medical Center
Long Leaf Solutions
Naples Daily News
The News-Press


AAA – The Auto Club Group
First Florida Integrity Bank
Guarantee Insurance
HCI Group, Inc.
Heritage Insurance
JM Family Enterprises
Miromar Development
People’s Trust Insurance
Premier Beverage
Public Risk Insurance Agency of Brown & Brown
Windhaven Insurance Company



A Plus Pro Photo
Associated Industries of Florida
Dave and Karen Bere
CapTrust Advisors
Collier Enterprises
FineMark National Bank & Trust
Florida Gulf Coast University
Goldman Sachs
Gulfstream Media Group
Peter and Ann Jacobsen
Ken Sneeden and Associates, LLC
Laird A. Lile, P.A.
McDonald Hopkins
Ocala Magazine
Paragon New Media
PGA Tour
Polston Applied Technologies
Peter and Lee Ann Rummell
Shula’s Steak House
Summit Management
Walt Disney World
Wells Fargo

Stay in Touch

Be a part of a caring community that believes everyone has the right to read.

Join our mailing list

Send an Ecard

What We Do

We prepare children for school and help their parents improve their literacy skills by providing access to high-quality family literacy programs nationwide.